website pics profileI am a social worker, an independent writer and researcher on tribal issues. I obtained my BA degree in Arts (History hons) from the Sambalpur University, Odisha; PG Diploma in Journalism and Mass Communication from NISCORT, Delhi, PG Diploma in Human Rights from IIHR, Delhi and MA degree in Sociology from IGNOU, Delhi.

In 2004, I started my career as a journalist with the Indian Currents magazine, a national weekly published from Delhi. Working as a journalist I came across number of cases of human-trafficking and violence faced by migrant adivasi/ tribal girls and women mostly from the rural villages of Jharkhand and Odisha working in Delhi and neighboring states as domestic worker. Moved by the regular reported incidences of exploitation, rape, discrimination, physical and mental torture, mysterious deaths of domestic workers, I decided to work for their welfare by voluntarily engaging myself with the like-minded NGOs and groups.

In 2013, I was selected for the United Nations’ OHCHR Indigenous Fellowship programme by the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, Geneva, Switzerland and received training on the UN systems and mechanisms dealing with human rights and indigenous tribal peoples’ issues in particular.

Born in Simdega Paikbahal village of Sundargarh (Odisha), I have experienced the struggles of rural youth and women in access to education, employment and other facilities. Therefore, I have been advocating their rights and empowerment under various capacities. Since 2005, I have been engaged with the tribal people’s struggle for our rights, identity and survival. I also take interest in reflecting Indian history and documenting the oral traditions of various tribes across regions and history in comparison.

I live in Bangalore. I love to travel. It gives me sense of adventure and happiness to learn about the places, people, food, nature and culture.

My blog https://almabarla.blogspot.in/

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.